Forest Management Area

The Nawiinginokiima Forest Manaagement Corporation’s (NFMC) current forest management area encompasses three forests: the Big Pic, Pic River, and the White River.

Big Pic Forest

The Big Pic forest is located primarily in the Wawa District, northeast region of the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources and Forestry (MNRF). A small portion of the forest near Marathon is in the MNRF’s Nipigon District of the northwest region.



Pic River Forest



White River Forest

The White River forest is located in north-central Ontario, centered approximately on the town of White River. The forest encompasses approximately 6,126 KM2, including all land and water. Of this area, over 99% is owned by the Crown. Approximately 4,464 KM2 (86% of the Crown-managed forest and 81% of the total forest area) is managed production forest.